In Case You Missed It

New infrastructure considers students with special needs
October 3, 2017, Lusungu Munthali
New infrastructure considers students with special needs

Featured Biography

Grant  Kululanga
Prof Grant Kululanga - Principal

JMS Ex-heads Steer 2019 TNM Media Awards Panel

News   Chapter Banda   February 12, 2019
PIC: TNM Media Awards judging panel
The former Heads in the Department of Journalism and Media Studies at the University of Malawi—The Polytechnic were part of the 2019 TNM media awards judging panel, to scrutinize seven most outstanding sports journalists.

The seven best sports reporters in their coverage of 2018 TNM Super League were awarded at 2019 TNM media awards gala.

The event took place on Saturday, February 9, 2019 at Sunbird Mount Soche Hotel in Blantyre.

The three-person judging panel comprised of two Polytechnic lecturers, Ellard Manjawira, Maclan Kanyang’wa and Centre for Solutions Journalism Executive Director Brian Ligomeka.

Speaking during the event, Manjawira, who headed the panel, said the selection process was one of the toughest choices for judges.

“This was one of the closest contests in media competitions we have come across in so far as judging sports journalists is concerned. We are satisfied with the high quality of submissions. We would like to encourage sports journalists and others that submit their work for similar competitions to have an eye for quality journalism and analysis,” he said.

 On his part, TNM’s marketing and sales chief officer, Dan Makata, hailed sports journalists for providing a critical review of the TNM Super League. 

Makata further said their roles have helped to shape the football industry in Malawi and offered valuable feedback for decision makers in sports.

“As a sponsor, TNM believes that an informed audience is valuable to the TNM Super League’s growth and overall development of football in the country,” he said.

He continued to say that the media is the mirror that gives a reflection of what is happening in the league, which in turn helps the sports administrators to take action.

A Nation Publications Limited journalist who grabbed the award for best photojournalist, Bobby Kabango, said it was a great moment for him as he has been honored, and he felt happy for the award.

This is first time that the media competition component of the TNM Super League has run as a separate event judged by an independent panel.

The winning journalists are: Williams Gondwa for best commentary / columnist category, Peter Fote for best journalist in television category, Mcfarien Mbewe for best radio journalist and Snowden Kadzakumanja as best television cameraman.

Whilst NPL dominated the awards by scooping three awards out of seven, namely best photojournalist, grabbed by Bobby Kabango, best print journalist, awarded to Joy Ndovi, and best online journalist, won by Pledge Jali.

The winner in every category received K200, 000 Cheque, a trophy, certificate and TNM branded goodies.

Also in the news

Encouraging female students pursue science programmes
September 11, 2017, Lusungu Munthali
Encouraging female students pursue science programmes
Men around the world have largely dominated the field of science; men have founded many discoveries and formulaic equations. From the apple that fell not so far from the tree to land on Isaac Newton triggering a quest that lead to the theory of gravi...