MIDC image

National Bank CEO (third from left) posing with the Beneficiaries of the scholarship

By Harris Chimatiro

The National Bank of Malawi through Polytechnic Alumni association has awarded scholarships to 20 deserving needy students. The scholarships were awarded at its head office in Blantyre where 20 Needy students were given scholarships amounting to MK1, 600, 000.00 based on merit, which will cover tuition fees for a period of four years.

Speaking at the awarding ceremony, National Bank’s Chief Executive Officer, Macphassy Kawawa, said this is inline with National Bank’s education policy.

“We have corporate social responsibility policy where education is one of the major pillars and in this regard we are very receptive to any approaches on sponsoring education” said Kawawa.

He further said that they were approached by the Polytechnic Alumni Association to help them with some initiatives for supporting needy students and they rendered help because that is inline with National Bank’s Corporate Responsibility policy.

Speaking on behalf of the students, Bena Kaliko, one of the male beneficiaries who is studying Bachelors of Commerce in internal auditing, thanked National Bank for the award while promising to keep working hard to fulfill conditions of the scholarship.

“I am so pleased and happy that the National Bank has offered scholarship to students and being one of the students am very glad because it will assist me not to be withdrawn based on fees but I will proceed with my education,” said Kaliko

On the other hand, female beneficiary of the scholarship, Sarah Solomon appealed for more companies to help needy students. “Companies should come and assist our students, indeed at Polytechnic there are a lot of students that are looking for sponsorship like this one,” said Solomon.

The scholarships were awarded to each one of the students by National Bank’s Chief Executive Officer, Mr Kawawa. Each of the beneficiaries was awarded a cheque amounting to MK 1, 600, 000.00, which will cover tuition fees for a period of four years.